Is Jell-O pudding gluten free? [2021]

Is Jell-O pudding gluten free

Is Jell-O pudding gluten free or not, let’s find out. Jell-O is very famous and popular all over the world as a jelly. Many people prefer it as a treat because it is very low in calorie and also it is mostly consumed in hospitals and schools.

If you are finding which jelly pudding is totally gluten-free, in the United States commonly majority of the Jell-O brand is free from gluten substances. But always keep in mind and not to forget to read the labels of the product.

In this article, we will answer the question is Jell-O pudding gluten-free or not in the most detailed way so you do not have to worry to question yourself again and again.

Is Jell-O pudding gluten free?

Most people with celiac disease and those gluten sensitivities struggling to find gluten-free desserts products that taste delicious. Jell-O pudding is available at stores in different varieties of colours and flavours, which can be used to make awesome sweet deserts. These puddings are also available in casein-free, free from sugar and also they are very low in fat and calories.

Many people are suffering from celiac disease, but the scariest thing is many people are undiagnosed with it. Many people suffer from celiac disease to their rest of the life without realizing that with the consumption of gluten in their daily diets, their intestine is being damaged, so this is very significant to understand whether the food products you are consuming is totally gluten-free or not, what are the ingredients that food items contained.

By keeping in this mind while considering to consume Jell-O pudding this question would have popped up in your mind: is Jell-O pudding gluten free? So read the rest of the article to know in detail.

Jell-O Instant Pudding and Jell-O pudding are produced by Kraft Foods that includes several desserts products, pudding and jelly. You can buy Jell-O in two forms, whether powdered or readymade. Also, these products are totally free from gluten but these products are manufactured on equipment that might contain gluten items.

 So, mostly products of Jell-O are not labelled on the packages of the products as free of gluten and as a gluten-free, we regard the product and for celiac suffered people it is safe to consume.

Celiac.com puts Jell-O instant pudding and Jell-O pudding in the category of gluten-free. Gluten-free products are those products that do not have any substance and ingredients of gluten and for which complaints of cross-contamination of gluten have not occurred.

The main ingredients in Jell-O are gelatin and the other ingredients include artificial flavours, artificial colours, sugar, fumaric acid and adipic which is used to make the texture, taste and product quality better.

Although, none of the ingredients in Jell-O includes gluten in it. Certification of gluten-free products is avoided by many brands for their jello products because it is usually manufactured in the lines that might include gluten-containing traces.

As a result, as long as the ingredients used in making Jell-O are free from gluten, it is uncommon produced in a gluten-free factory.

So, always go through the website of Kraft Foods on regular basis to know the changes of product formulation and the ingredients used also read the labelled ingredients on the package carefully.

Moreover, we found one exception that Pie Filling and Jell-O instant cheesecake Pudding which includes barley in its ingredients is not free of gluten and not safe to consume for celiac.

The content of gluten traces can always be found from the labels on the product and to find the most accurate information about the products is to a checklist of ingredients contained in it.

Kraft the producer of Jell-O pudding is popular for being very trustworthy in indexing any gluten-containing ingredients on the package labels as well as stating (which is a requirement of FDA) that the food item having wheat in it (even note that other food grains also have gluten in it such as rye, barley, and maybe oats).

But the Jell-O pudding is safe. You can consider and go for homemade pudding if you are still so much worried about the possibility of gluten in those products. You have to do all of your own to prepare and it will be very interesting and worthy to cook.

If you are preparing Jell-O pudding at your home then you must ensure that it is totally gluten-free and always be sure to choose and use those food ingredients on which it is labelled as it is totally free from gluten and safe to eat.

Jell-O Pudding Nutrition Info –

Serving Size – 110gm
Calories – 100

Amount Per Serving %DV *
Total Fat 0g 0%
Saturated Fat 0g 0%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 170mg  –
Total Carbohydrate 7g  –
Dietary Fiber 1g  –
Sugars 16g  –
Protein 2g  –
Vitamin A 0%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 10%
Iron 4%

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

Jell-O Pudding Ingredients (Chocolate Snack Pack) –

  • Water
  • Modified Corn starch
  • Sugar
  • Skim Milk
  • Corn starch
  • Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (For Smooth Texture)
  • Cocoa Processed With Alkali
  • Contains Less Than 1% of Salt
  • Calcium Phosphate
  • Artificial Color
  • Natural and Artificial Flavor
  • Sodium Alginate
  • Vitamin D
  • Vitamin A Palmitate

Jell-O Instant Pudding Flavors with No Gluten Ingredients –

These are the following products of Jell-O pudding which are given below that contain no gluten in it, and they are regarded as free of gluten and safe to consume for those who are suffering from celiac disease:

  • Jell-O Caramel Instant Pudding
  • Jell-O Chocolate Fudge Instant Pudding
  • Jell-O Butterscotch Instant Pudding Mix
  • Jell-O Banana Cream Instant Pudding
  • Jell-O Cook & Serve Banana Cream Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Cook & Serve Chocolate Fudge Pudding
  • Jell-O Cook & Serve Chocolate Pudding & Pie
  • Jell-O Cook & Serve Coconut Cream Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Cook & Serve Lemon Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Chocolate Fudge Cook & Serve Pudding & Pie
  • Jell-O Cook & Serve Banana Cream Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Cook and Serve Chocolate Pudding
  • Jell-O Cook and Serve Sugar Free Vanilla Pudding
  • Jell-O Cook & Serve Butterscotch Pudding & Pie
  • Jell-O Cook & Serve Vanilla Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Cheesecake Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Chocolate Fudge Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Chocolate Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Chocolate Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Butterscotch Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Coconut Cream Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Banana Cream Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Devil’s Food Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant French Vanilla Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Banana Pudding
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Butterscotch
  • Jell-O Instant Pumpkin Spice Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Chocolate
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Chocolate
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Chocolate
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Chocolate
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Chocolate
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Chocolate Fudge
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Vanilla Pudding
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Fat-Free Pistachio Pudding
  • Jell-O Instant Sugar-Free Lemon Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Vanilla Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant White Chocolate Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Instant Vanilla Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Lemon Instant Pudding
  • Jell-O Pistachio Instant Pudding
  • Jell-O Red Velvet Instant Pudding
  • Jell-O Simply Good Caramel Pudding
  • Jell-O Simply Good Chocolate Pudding
  • Jell-O Strawberry Creme Instant Pudding
  • Jell-O Strawberry Instant Pudding
  • Jell-O Sugar-Free Fat-Free Instant Reduced Calorie
  • Jell-O Vanilla Cook & Serve Pudding & Pie Filling
  • Jell-O Simply Good Banana Pudding
  • Jell-O Simply Good Vanilla Pudding
  • Jell-O White Chocolate Sugar-Free-Fat-Free
  • Jell-O Tapioca Fat-Free Cook & Serve Pudding & Pie
  • Jell-O Vanilla Instant Pudding

Although, Pie filling and Jell-O Instant Cheesecake Pudding includes an ingredient called barley which is used for its flavouring and so it is not free from gluten and also not safe for those who have celiac disease. 

If you are too cautious and want to avoid gluten completely and looking for Jell-O pudding which has to be totally free from gluten then it is best for you to try cooking at your home and it will be very easy to prepare and it totally ensures that the product which you want to consume is gluten-free and safe to celiac disease.

Also, some brands are out there for pudding that is totally free from gluten such as Soyummi pudding. So yummy pudding is also nut-free, dairy-free and fully vegan. For those who are with multiple dietary restrictions, then especially this product can be very helpful.

There are lots of recipes to prepare gluten-free pudding delicious and for your want.

Conclusions –

There are many types and flavours of pudding or jelly out there in the market which are gluten-free. But always do read the labels and see the ingredients to be sure about whether the product is gluten-free or not. I think you got the idea of the question: is Jell-O pudding gluten free? If you’re so cautious then try making your own Jell-O pudding at your home and enjoy it with your friends and family.

I hope this article is helpful to you.

Read also: