Is almond milk gluten free?

Is almond milk gluten free

Many questions pops up when it comes to gluten-free and dairy-free products and one of those queries: is almond milk gluten free? Many people who are very sensitive to dairy containing products are searching for the cow’s milk alternative because of the increase in diets that are based on plants.

And one of the plant-based and most popular selling kinds of milk is almond milk because it is surplus in flavour and texture. Nonetheless, since this beverage is refined/processed, you possibly enquiring whether almond milk is rich in nutrition and safe to consume as a healthy part of the diet.

So, we will discuss: is almond milk gluten free or not and which brand to choose for totally gluten-free almond milk in a detailed possible way, so keep reading.

Is almond milk gluten free –

Almond milk is consumed by many people because it is dairy-free and plant-based as a substitute for the milk of a cow (which dairy beverage). Almond milk is prepared with the step by step process in which firstly it is almond nuts are roasted then it is ground and in the end, it is blended with filtered water.

Nearly, all the brands of almond milk do not contain any kind of flavours and artificial colours. Broadly, it includes genetically modified organisms (GMO).

Naturally, almond milk is purely dairy and gluten-free and nearly all the almond milk brands trade products which are totally free from gluten and it very safe to eat. Possibly few food additives are utilised particularly with almond milk flavoured.

Thus, if you are considering purchasing flavoured almond milk, make sure to read the product label to check if it contains any substances of gluten in the ingredients of the flavouring to avoid buying it to keep safe from consuming gluten-containing products. So if you are gluten intolerant then you don’t have to worry about consuming.

If you are too cautious and want to avoid gluten fully then you can also make it in a home by just adding the following ingredients very easily which is given below.

Homemade Almond Milk Gluten Free Ingredients –

  • Pure almond extract
  • Quality salt
  • Raw almonds, soaked in filtered water overnight
  • Raw honey
  • Pure vanilla
  • Lemon juice or apple cider vinegar

Related – Is Jello pudding gluten free

Ingredients in Almond Milk to know it’s gluten-free or not –

  • Almond milk (Filtered Water, Almonds)
  • Cane Sugar
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Gellan Gum
  • Sea Salt
  • Vitamin E Acetate
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • Vitamin and Mineral
  • Vitamin D2
  • Sunflower Lecithin

Almond Milk Nutrition –

Quantity – 240 ml

  • Calories – 39
  • Protein – 1 gm
  • Fat – 3 gm
  • Fibre – 0.5 gm
  • Carbs – 3.5 gm
  • Calcium – 24% of the Daily Value (DV)
  • Potassium – 4% of the DV
  • Vitamin E – 110% of the DV
  • Vitamin D – 18% of the DV

Moreover,

  • It is highly rich in many nutritions and dairy-free.
  • Almond milk which is unsweetened does not enhance the level of sugar in the blood.
  • Enriched nutritious almond milk helps in strengthens bones.
  • It is very helpful in minimizing the risk of any heart disease as it is rich in vitamin E amount.

Almond Milk brands that are gluten-free – Is almond milk gluten free?

These are the list of some of the almond milk brands which are gluten-free are given below:

  • Almond Breeze –

The producer of this almond milk is Blue Diamond, which are available in stores as shelf-stable rectangular boxes and cartons of refrigerated milk. It comes in various flavours which are unsweetened, original chocolate and vanilla.

Under the name of Almond Breeze in both flavours of vanilla and original, Blue Diamond also manufacturers the blend of coconut and almond milk. As stated by the Blue Diamond, almond breeze does not include any traces of gluten in the ingredients used to prepare it.

In spite of that, the brand has never confirmed whether almond breeze products are checked to see if they match the standard of GF-20.

  • Almond Dream –

Almond dream products are marked by Hain Celestial side by side rice dream, it is another dairy-free consumable. Almond Dream comes in many flavours such as unsweetened original, Original, unsweetened vanilla and vanilla in shelf-stable boxes.

As per the producer, the Almond Dream products ate checked and tested to be free from gluten traces in them.

Related – Are funyuns gluten free?

  • Pacific Foods –

Pacific Foods manufacturer hazelnut, coconut and almond milk that is available in shelf-stable boxes. The almond milk of this brand is available in unsweetened, chocolate, original and vanilla which is purely organic.

As per the company, all these food products are totally gluten-free. Still, you should be aware that hemp and oat milk are processed by Pacific which are not free from gluten and the same machines/lines are being used for manufacturing all food products of this company.

As per the company, it is stated that the lines are regularly cleaned through the process of five-step. So, you have to be aware of this information if you cannot tolerate the processing on these lines.

  • Silk –

Whitewave Foods says that they follow every protocol for ensuring to prevent the possibility of cross-contamination. Silk stated that all the food products which the company produces are totally gluten-free.

The products which they manufacture are cashew milk, almond milk and coconut milk with various flavours included vanilla, dark chocolate, unsweetened and original.

  • Califia Farms –

Califia Farms produces products that are 100% natural and plant-based milk in a wide variety. They manufacture food products of different ranges which are gluten-free, dairy-free, carrageenan-free, and soy-free. BPA free and non-GMO.

  • Malk Unsweetened Pure Almond Milk –

There are 3 ingredients that are used to manufacture Malk Unsweetened pure almond milk which are Himalayan salt, organic almonds and filtered water. This almond milk product is officially certified. If you compared the almond milk of this brand with other brands it is not as high in vitamin D and calcium.

  • New Barn Unsweetened Almond Milk –

This brand is also one of the almond milk manufacturers which is free from gluten and prepared organically. The amount of added sugar in it is 0.

Conclusion – Is almond milk gluten free?

Lastly in my opinion I would suggest you always check and read the labels on the package to be sure the gluten substances are not included and also to avoid if it is there.

People who are tolerant of gluten don’t have to worry much but serious care should be taken from those who are suffering from celiac disease and have to choose gluten-free almond milk carefully. If you want to avoid gluten and want to enjoy consuming it you can make it in your home.

Read Also,