Are Swedish fish vegan? [2021]

Are Swedish fish vegan

While buying and trying Swedish fish candies many of you have a question which arises that: Are Swedish fish vegan friendly.

Basically, Swedish Fish is a type of chewy candy shaped like a fish and it is made by Swedish candy manufacturer Malaco originally for the United States market in the late 1950s. Malaco is a Swedish enterprise and fishing industry. Now they are produced by Mondelez international in Turkey and Canada.

Red coloured Swedish fish candy is a unique flavour, even now these candies are manufactured in various different colours such as lemon-lime, orange and green. There are many other questions asked like are Swedish fish vegan or not, which we will cover in this article in a detailed way.

Are Swedish Fish Vegan?

Are Swedish Fish Vegan

As you can see listed below Peg Bag Packaging ingredients, contains Beeswax and palm oil, if you compared the regular packaging. Basically, Beeswax is considered as non-vegan ingredients as it is taken into account as an animal-derived product. All the ingredients which are used in regular packaged are totally vegan-friendly Swedish fish candy.

But always check the label on the packaging to confirm the beeswax ingredient is not added to it, otherwise, it is usually a vegan product. Swedish fish is a candy whose ingredients vary based on its packaging.

  • Swedish fish have many varieties and none of them includes gluten ingredients therefore it is gluten-free candy.
  • None of the Swedish fish candy includes egg albumen and gelatin according to listed ingredients on the website of Mondelez.
  • You enjoy the Swedish fish candy without any worry because it is totally free from fat.
  • Usually, the red coloured Swedish fish taste like berry flavour which is very good in taste. Commonly other varieties of Swedish fish taste more like fruit.
  • These Swedish fish candies are available in original and small sizes which is more satisfying for kids.
  • Swedish fish candy popularly used as a Halloween treat candy in the United States.

Related – Are marshmallows gluten-free and vegan?

Basic Swedish Fish Ingredients –

Regular Packaging (Vegan) – 

  • Corn Syrup
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Invert Sugar
  • Sugar
  • White Mineral Oil
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Natural and Artificial Flavour
  • Citric Acid
  • Blue 1
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 6
  • Yellow 5

(Carnauba wax: It is a substance like wax, from the Brazilian palm plant it is derived.)

Peg Bag Packaging (Non-Vegan) – 

  • Corn Syrup
  • Invert Sugar
  • Citric Acid
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Sugar
  • Natural and Artificial Flavour
  • Beeswax
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Red 40

Controversial Swedish Fish Ingredients which are Vegan –

We will analyze the controversial ingredients which are vegan even though we consider those ingredients to be vegan friendly which is given below:

Palm Oil and Palm Fat –

Palm Oil is an ingredient which is vegan and controversial not because of the reason it is derived from the animal but because it harms many animals and ruin environment impacts by the palm oil cultivation. For more detailed information regarding this you can search the title: is palm oil vegan?

Sugar –

Mostly in every product of candies, sugar ingredients will always include. Sugar is a controversial ingredient that is vegan the reason is that to get the pure white colour, sugar cane which is refined is processed with animal bone char. Because of the methods of processing sugar, it is considered not vegan, even animal bone char substances do not include themselves in sugar.

Therefore sugar is usually considered a vegan ingredient. If you want to avoid sugars which are non-vegan than in this analysis all the product should be avoided. For more detailed knowledge about sugar you can go through the topic: is sugar vegan?

Natural and Artificial Flavourings –

Typically natural and artificial flavours derived from plant or animal sources, but mostly in all candies, natural flavour is included from plant-based sources, if the natural flavour is from animal sources than it is mentioned as highlighted on the package label. Hopefully, I think your query: are Swedish fish vegan friendly will be solved.

Swedish Fish Martini Drink –

5 minutes to prepare

Serving – 1

Swedish Fish Martini Drink Ingredients –

  • Swedish Fish Candy – 1
  • Cranberry 30 ml (1 oz.)
  • Vodka 60 ml (2 oz.)
  • Triple Sec 30 ml (1 oz.)
  • Lime Juice 10 ml (1/3 oz.)
  • Ice

Conclusion: Are Swedish fish vegan?

Therefore, mainly Swedish fish candies of all varieties are vegan-friendly products but ingredients differ based on the packaging. But always read the label whether it is vegan or not. Sometimes cross-contamination happens while processing but if companies mark it as a vegan than in my opinion you have to go for it and enjoy it on different occasions and festivals. I hope you got the answer to the query: Are Swedish fish vegan or not?

If you like this article read related articles to know more.

Also read –