Are marshmallows gluten free and vegan?

People often have questions and ask: ‘are marshmallows gluten free’. So, let me tell you not all the brands who produce marshmallows of different flavours are gluten-free. Some of the marshmallows contain gluten in a very low amount as it requires that type of ingredients to make.

Gluten-free marshmallows

Those who are suffering from celiac disease have always considered deeply to figure out before consuming that: are marshmallows gluten free totally or not.

In an easy way if I tell you that most all marshmallows of major brands are free of gluten which are sold in the US, even after it is not labelled specifically.

So you have to be careful if you are buying marshmallows which are not American brands as it may include wheat starch and other gluten substances which are produced outside the United States.

Are marshmallows gluten free?

‘Are marshmallows gluten free’. For a healthy life, people are being health conscious and turning to a diet which is gluten-free, Most of the brands which produce marshmallows have ensured that their product is free from gluten.

So, are marshmallows gluten free in real or not for that you can always check the ingredients of marshmallows brands rather than trusting their advertisements.

Are marshmallows gluten free

Most of the marshmallows are free from gluten. However, it is better you always see labels on the package and read the ingredients of the product before buying to avoid gluten consumption because some brands may contain gluten substance in it or they can be processed on production equipment. 

There are two major producers of marshmallow in the United States, Doumak Inc. and Kraft Foods Inc. These both companies make gluten-free marshmallows.

All the major brands of marshmallows are produced by these two companies which are: Campfire, Jet, Kraft and store brands. Most of the marshmallows which are sold as a private store are also produced by these companies.

Gluten-free marshmallows –

Kraft Jet-Puffed marshmallows –

Kraft Company produces Jet-Puffed marshmallows in various sizes which are range from small to large which can be suitable to sum with gluten-free hot chocolate and perfect for roasting.

These Kraft Jet-Puffed marshmallows are available in stores in a large quantity, by which we can purchase them from the stores to use it in our houses and can be used on the planned day with friends.

On the packaged labels Kraft shows all the ingredients which include gluten and they have never labelled their marshmallows specifically as free of gluten and the reports of their representative’s shows that they are not subject cross-contamination of gluten in production.

Peeps marshmallows –

Most of the people think of marshmallow Peeps when it comes to marshmallows. It is produced in many different colours, multiple shapes and various themes for different holidays. These peeps are produced by Just Born, which labels them as free of gluten.

However, the food starch which is used to produce peeps marshmallows is derived from corn. You should depend on the packaging of Peeps if they say it is totally safe to consume.

So many different varieties of new peeps marshmallows flavours and types of shapes, including peeps on a stick, has been produced by Just Born. Some of these marshmallows are unfortunately not free from gluten.

Ingredients in marshmallows –

These are the basic ingredients which are required to make marshmallow:Ingredients in marshmallows

  • Corn Syrup
  • Blue 1
  • Sugar
  • Modified Corn starch
  • Water
  • Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate (Whipping Aid)
  • Dextrose
  • Contains Less Than 2% of Gelatin
  • Natural and Artificial Flavour

Nutritional Information in marshmallows –

Serving Size: 4 pieces (29g)

Calories from Fat: 0

Total Calories: 100

Amount Per Serving

 

%DV *

 

Total Fat 0g 15%
Saturated Fat 0g 0%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 30mg 2%
Total Carbohydrate 8g 1%
Dietary Fibre 0g 0%
Sugars 17g  –
Protein 1g  –
Vitamin A 0%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 0%
Iron 0%

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

Marshmallow brands which are gluten-free –

Dandies Vegan Marshmallows –

 

Dandies Vegan Marshmallows

Dandies’ vanilla-flavoured mini marshmallows boast that nostalgic flavour you crave without all the artificial junk. They produce the best topping to hot cocoa, a latte made in-home or even a creamy cocktail.

Campfire Giant Roasters Marshmallows –

Campfire Giant Roasters Marshmallows

Campfire Giant Roasters marshmallows are totally free from gluten and fat. In addition, the extra-large size makes them enough to fulfil some more — just remember to select free from gluten graham crackers.

Peeps Yellow Chicks –

Peeps Yellow Chicks

Peeps yellow chicks marshmallows are totally free from fat and gluten. The ingredients which take it to produce does not contain any gluten. So, you can consume it without any worry.

Are Marshmallows Vegan?

“Are marshmallows vegan?”. In this modernisation, marshmallows cannot be said as a vegan food even though it is originated from the mallow plant species. Off course you might be disappointed to know the marshmallows are not vegan technically.

The main cause of it is gelatin, which one of the major substances or ingredient used in the production of marshmallows.

Are marshmallow Vegan
                                                              Are Marshmallow Vegan

In the process of producing marshmallows, gelatin is included as a gelling agent in it. It is a kind of plant protein which is come from the bone, ligaments, skin and tendons of animals. However, the main cause of marshmallows not vegan is gelatin which is used for production.

You may see plenty of companies doing the advertisement for their marshmallow candies as a vegan product.

Before purchasing and regretting afterwards, just figure out by reading the labels and ingredients used in producing it. Still, you can see gelatin is used in the production the company say it as a vegan product. However there are very fewer brands who make vegan marshmallows, let’s see how?

Carrageenan is the substances which are used to replace gelatin, which fortunately comes under a vegan category. You can check this ingredient on the labels of the product if you can’t find gelatin on the label. If you can able to find carrageenan on the label than absolutely it is a vegan product.

Are Marshmallows Dairy Free?

It is the best news for those who do not like dairy. Marshmallows are free from dairy and lactose. You can consume marshmallows without considering twice if you cannot tolerate lactose. Basically, marshmallows are made from corn starch, sugar and gelatin.

Conclusion –

As per the queries of so many people that ‘are marshmallows gluten free’, so as I will say that you have to choose and figure out from various marshmallows brands which one contain gluten and which are totally gluten-free for your health.

 

Read Also –