Are Grits Gluten Free? Which brands are gluten free

Are Grits Gluten Free
Are Grits Gluten Free

Are grits gluten free? For the most part, Yes it is free from gluten, But it totally depends on which company brand you purchase it, so it is best to keep reading the below article.

In the United States, grits are a much-loved breakfast dish. From so many years, grits have gradually developed and come in the world of dinner and lunch cuisine as well. The best thing about this staple is that it is very easy to make and last a long way in fulfilling desire or need.

However, not everybody can enjoy grits if they are not conscious and careful. While picking out the food products some Americans have to be very selective cause some Americans resulted in suffer from celiac disease and this takes to the query: Are grits gluten free or not?

Are Grits Gluten Free –

Are Grits Gluten Free

So In this article, we will answer your query: are grits gluten free in best-detailed information by which there will be no doubt arise again in your mind while choosing the right brand product.

Grits are totally gluten-free as they come from corn in the totally purest form, but that one applicable on some brands who produce grits. Several grits are not safe to consume if you are following a diet which is gluten-free as they are produced from other additional grains.

Cross-contamination problem in grits –

If you are suffering from celiac disease and have gluten sensitivity many times grits are not safe to consume if they are made from corn and the reason behind this is cross-contamination.

This problem comes when the manufacturer of grits process the grits on the same machine they use to process other products of grain. The residue is transferred to the grits which are left on the machine, thus tampering them enough so that they are no longer considered gluten-free.

Do read the labels on the grits package before purchasing –

In this modernisation, even there are also some grits which produce from barley.

As you may know, one of the different types of grains that include gluten. By this and other things into consideration, it is very necessary to see labels on the product and give attention on any warnings and ingredients which shows that the grits were made in equipment that produces other different types of food grains.

Always see the labels to know the ingredients which are put in making grits before making a purchase.

Gluten-free grits to buy – Are grits gluten free available in stores?

Are grits gluten free? Yes, grits are gluten-free only for some certain brands. And it is necessary to find those gluten-free brands of grits to help those who are on a gluten-free diet and are suffering from celiac disease. Let’s see some brands over below:

Bob’s Red Mill –

This is one of the popular brands among people who are seeking grits and food products free of gluten. Things which people have to keep in consideration that Bob’s Red Mill manufactures other products which include gluten under the name of the same brand.

Bob’s Red Mill manufacturers a different variety and kinds of gluten-free flours and grains but Bob’s corn grits is the only product of their brand which is labelled as a gluten-free food product.

Palmetto Farms –

To manufacture grits, palmetto farms use a stone mill in order to extract natural oils derived from grains of corn. This brand uses traditional techniques which result in producing gluten-free grits in three different varieties that are: stone-ground white, stone-ground mixed and stone-ground yellow.

Medford Farms –

Medford Farms is the company which prides itself for their freshness in products that the reason why you will see its products in the frozen food section. Their packaged grits in a tube are free from gluten.

Sam Mills –

This Sam Mills a Romanian based brand is famous for its production of gluten-free product for the people who are suffering from celiac disease. Because it is situated abroad. It is simple to order gluten-free corn grits and 100% non-GMO through online.

Arrowhead Mills –

In meeting with the challenges of gluten-free standards this Arrowhead Mills company prides itself. It produces yellow corn grits free from gluten for the people.

Julia’s Pantry –

Julia’s Pantry process and manufactures a variety of organic steel-cut gluten-free yellow grits. The brand ensures to tests the product to meet its standards.

Gluten-free corn Grits (Pros and Cons)–

Gluten Free Corn Grits

Pros –

  • They are Gluten Free
  • Excellent flavour and Quality
  • Smooth creamy taste
  • Best Breakfast
  • Safe for those who have celiac disease
  • Can be cooked in many different ways
  • The natural sweetness of the corn
  • Healthy food

Cons –

  • Differs with the taste of people some people don’t like the taste.
  • No more cons

Making Gluten-Free Grits at Home

Are grits gluten free? Yes, grits are gluten-free only for some certain brands. But there are higher chances of cross-contamination during production for that it is better to make it of your own at home to make it totally free of gluten.

Still, you can make varieties of tastes by following different ingredients to enjoy it totally free from gluten.

Amaranth grits

Ingredients for making gluten-free grits are –

  • 1 medium onion, finely diced
  • 1 cup of amaranth
  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped in small pieces
  • 3 cups of vegetable stock or water
  • Sea salt (season to taste)
  • Soy sauce (season to taste)
  • Hot sauce (season to taste, optional)
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped (for garnish, optional)

Directions to make –

In a 2-quart saucepan of 2-quart put the vegetable stock. Add the garlic, onion and amaranth. Reduce the heat to a medium after bringing it to a boiling level. Keep it covered to cook for 20 minutes until most of the stock gets absorbed.

The amaranth should not be hard it should be crunchy. Increase the heat if to boil if it is still watery for at least 40 sec and keep it stirring constantly. Put some salt and soy sauce to taste and add a full teaspoon of hot sauce and garnished tomatoes if you want. Enjoy it!

Ingredients to make different varieties of gluten-free grits–

Ingredients may differ according to different varieties of gluten-free grits recipe like for making –

Cheesy Southern Grits

You can also make Cheesy Southern Grits at the home of your own to be totally free from gluten and be safe from cross-contamination in the process of manufacturing.

Ingredients:Southern grits

  • Water
  • Heavy cream
  • Chicken broth
  • Creole seasoning
  • Garlic powder
  • Pepper
  • Butter
  • Onion powder
  • Grits (not instant grits)
  • Shredded Monterey jack cheese
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Salt

Old-Fashioned Grits

To make gluten-free old fashioned frits at home here are the basic ingredients you need:

Ingredients:

  • Butter
  • Pepper
  • Stone-ground grits
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Milk
  • Heavy cream

Shrimp and Grits

Basic ingredients to make Shrimp and grits at your home to be free from gluten especially for people who are suffering from celiac disease and want to enjoy but because of cross-contamination in the processing of grits, they can’t have it. Here are the ingredients to make it:

Ingredients:Shrimp And Grits

  • Stone-ground grits
  • Water
  • Green onion
  • Butter
  • Minced garlic
  • Bacon
  • Large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • Shredded cheese (Optional)
  • Lemon juice
  • Parsley

Nutritional information of Grits –

In grits, it has different varieties of minerals, antioxidants and Vitamins.

257 grams of grits contains the following nutrients as given below:

182 Calories

  • 1 gram of Fat
  • 2 grams of Fibre
  • 4 grams of Proteins
  • 38 grams of Carbs
  • 25 per cent of the reference daily intake – Folate
  • 13 per cent of the RDI – Niacin
  • 7 per cent of the RDI – Vitamin B6
  • 4 per cent of the RDI – Zinc
  • 12 per cent of the RDI – Riboflavin
  • 4 per cent of the RDI – Phosphorus
  • 18 per cent of the RDI – Thiamine
  • 8 per cent of the RDI – Iron
  • 5 per cent of the RDI – Magnesium

To sum up –

Lastly, I think you don’t have to struggle much to figure out: are grits gluten free or not. It is better you always check the label to know it is free from gluten.

 

Read Also –

Are marshmallows gluten free

Does sierra mist have caffeine