Are funyuns gluten free? [2021]

Are Funyuns gluten free

Are Funyuns gluten free? For the most part, YES, Funyuns are gluten-free if it is in its natural form without any cross-contamination while manufacturing process, but it also totally depends on which brand and company you purchase it from, so it’s good to keep reading the detailed article below to know more clearly:

Funyuns is the name of a brand who manufactures corn snack of onion flavoured made by Frito Lay which is first introduced in 1969 in the US, and George Bigner employee of Frito Lay invented it. However, many people are asking are Funyuns gluten free? Well, we will discuss this in detailed information, so keep reading the article below.

Are Funyuns gluten free?

As per the questions of people: are Funyuns gluten free or not, we found that yes, for most of the people we can say that Funyuns are gluten-free and safe to consume. These Funyuns snacks are fully prepared with ingredients which are totally gluten-free.

Funyuns snacks are not labelled on the package as gluten-free products due to the possibility of cross-contamination in process of manufacturing in the same equipment’s. Keep reading the important points to understand.

Funyuns does not contain any ingredients which are gluten, but as per the website of Frito Lay’s, in the manufacturing process there might be some places or lines which process products which are gluten, moreover they claimed that their unit of manufacturing is cleaned between the production process, but as per the current position they didn’t find any traces or substances of gluten in it after it is tested.

So if you are not concerned with highly sensitive, there will not be any difficulties with that.

But in the case, if you are suffering from celiac disease and highly sensitive to gluten content, then you may strongly avoid consuming these snack products of Funyuns. Read the labels of nutrition and ingredients on the package carefully and responsibly.

Until the Funyuns products will not go through the process of strict testing which is needed by the United States Food and drug administration under their final rule of gluten-free food labelling, the food products cannot be printed or labelled as gluten-free on their package.

As per Frito Lay, they have stated some of the flavours which do not include any gluten substances which are given below:

  • Funyuns Flamin’ Hot Onion Flavoured Rings
  • Funyuns Baked Onion Flavoured Rings
  • Funyuns Onion Flavoured Rings

Related – Is canola oil gluten free

Funyuns Ingredients –Are Funyuns gluten free?

  • Enriched Corn Meal
  • Corn Meal
  • Niacin
  • Ferrous Sulphate
  • Riboflavin
  • Thiamine Mononitrate
  • Folic Acid
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Canola Oil
  • Sunflower
  • Corn
  • Salt
  • Corn Starch
  • Corn Flour
  • Sugar
  • Buttermilk
  • Maltodextrin (Made from Corn)
  • Onion Powder
  • Hydrolysed Corn Protein
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Garlic Powder
  • Dextrose
  • Natural Flavours (Including Natural Toasted Onion Flavour)
  • Gum Arabic
  • Contains Milk Ingredients

If you really want to eat and enjoy totally gluten-free onion rings, you can check homemade ingredients below to prepare delicious onion rings for yourself.

Gluten-free ONION RINGS Ingredients –

  • Yellow onions
  • Gluten-free beer (You can use Bard’s Tale)
  • Eggs
  • Brown rice flour
  • McCormick Cajun Seasoning
  • Pamela’s Pancake & Baking Mix
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Black pepper
  • Unsweetened plain almond or rice milk
  • Corn starch
  • Club soda
  • Smoked paprika
  • Avocado, grapeseed or canola oil
  • Salt
  • Garlic powder

IS CORNMEAL GLUTEN-FREE?

As you can see ingredients below, cornmeal is one of the ingredients in manufacturing Funyuns, if the cornmeal is in its natural form then it is totally gluten-free. Cornmeal is made from maize. Always read the label on the package to know whether it is gluten-free or not because there is a possibility of cross-contamination in the process of production, so keep this in mind before purchasing it.

Funyuns Nutrition Info –

Serving Size: Around 13 Pieces (28g)
Calories: 130
Calories from Fat: 60

Amount Per Serving %DV *
Total Fat 6g 10%
Saturated Fat 1g 5%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 280mg 12%
Total Carbohydrate 16g 5%
Dietary Fiber <1g 3%
Sugars <1g
Protein 2g
Vitamin A 0%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 0%
Iron 4%
Thiamin 8%
Riboflavin 4%
Vitamin B6 2%

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

Gluten-Free Onion Snacks as a Replacement for Funyuns –

With the consumption of Funyuns, most of the people suffering from celiac disease have no complaints, but if you would like to avoid consuming every substance of gluten and serious and sensitive about gluten in food items and your health, then you can buy onion rings on which it is clearly written on the label that it is gluten-free.

There is very less number of onion snacks brand that offer fully certified gluten-free products which you can have it without any worry about gluten traces in it. Some of the gluten-free brands which you can buy it are given below:

  • Raw Food Central
  • Cosmos Creations
  • Tesco
  • Ian’s all-natural
  • Mash Direct

Conclusion – Are Funyuns gluten free?

I would recommend you to spend some time in groceries stores to check the product label carefully to know whether the ingredients are gluten-free and according to your diet preferences or not. And also to know would it be suitable for you to consume and include in your healthy diet and also to avoid gluten if you are sensitive to your health?

I think you have got the answer to the question are Funyuns gluten free or not, which is popped in your mind before purchasing Funyuns at the stores. I hope this is helpful to you.

Read also,